Godfrey Maeshiro, Gemma Garampil Weinstein and Eric Gill

2016 Local 5 Officer Election Results

Local 5 re-elects Eric Gill; votes in first Filipina President

Godfrey Maeshiro, Gemma Garampil Weinstein and Eric Gill

June 30, 2016

Honolulu – The Election Committee, appointed by UNITE HERE International Union President D. Taylor to oversee the 2016 Local 5 Officer Elections, announced this evening the re-election of Eric Gill as the top officer of UNITE HERE Local 5. Local 5 represents nearly 11,000 hotel, health care and food service workers in Hawai’i.

Also elected to a three-year term is Godfrey Maeshiro, Senior Vice-President and the Union’s first elected woman President and Ala Moana Hotel housekeeper, Gemma Garampil Weinstein – a long-time leader in Hawaii’s Filipino community.

In addition to the three titled officers, nine Executive Board members were elected. Mike McGurn, Rita Ikeda, Lydia Agustin will serve as At-Large members, joined by Maria Salantes (Hotel Division), Carol Woo (Food & Beverage Division), Joyce Griffin (Health Care Division), Angela Prigge (Kauai), Joyce Tihada (Maui), and Maggie Larson (Hawaii Island).

Three Trustees were elected. Momi Hai and Leslie Kumia were re-elected to their current positions, joined by newly elected Trustee Julie Gabot.

“Local 5 is known for our vigorous internal democracy and this election was no exception,” said Eric Gill. “We are pleased that, after three years of intense discussion, our members have voted to support the policy, programs and direction of our Union. The democratic process works. Our members have made an intelligent and informed choice, and Local 5 is stronger than ever.”

A total of  4,589 votes were cast in the Local 5 election.