Local 5 General Election endorsements

Vote Kirk Caldwell for Mayor

img_4108-copyLocal 5 will support Kirk Caldwell for re-election as Honolulu Mayor.

After Local 5 convention delegates heard from both Caldwell and his opponent Charles Djou at our recent annual convention, they were asked two questions:

  1. should Local 5 endorse a candidate in the Mayor’s election? and,
  2. which candidate should we choose?

Delegates felt that Local 5 should choose a candidate instead of staying neutral, and that Local 5 should choose Caldwell. Remembering the times that Caldwell had supported Local 5 members in our campaigns and strikes over the years, Caldwell appeared to be the better bet to support us from the Mayor’s office in our 2018 negotiation campaign.

Union leaders were asked by our convention delegates to have further discussions with Caldwell and his team.

In a series of meetings with the mayor and his people over the past few weeks, the mayor committed to support the Union’s program of securing jobs with good wages, health care and full retiree benefits for all hotel, health care & food service workers throughout Oahu; and to support our campaign for good contracts in 2018.

Based on these discussions, Local 5’s Political Action Team recommended to our Executive Board that Local 5 should support Kirk Caldwell for Honolulu Mayor.

Local 5 members can help build the political power and influence of our union by voting for Mayor Caldwell and other candidates endorsed by our union. Many voters will receive ballots in the mail as early as next week. Vote your ballot by mail, or go to your polling place to vote on November 8.

Local 5 Endorsements for the General Election

View a list of Local 5’s other endorsements for the general election (PDF).

Mayor of City & County of Honolulu
Kirk Caldwell

Honolulu City Council
Ron Menor – District 9 (Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia, Mililani Town, West Loch, Iroquois Point, portions of Ewa Villages & Ewa Beach)
Joey Manahan – District 7 (Kalihi, Iwilei, Kalihi Kai, Mapunapuna, Salt Lake, Aliamanu, Hickam, Foster Village, Ford Island, Sand Island)

Maui County Council
Elle Cochran – West Maui

Kauai County Council
Gary Hooser – At-Large

U.S. Congress
Brian Schatz – U.S. Senator
Colleen Hanabusa – U.S. Congressional District 1 (Urban Honolulu, East Honolulu, Pearl City, Aiea, Ewa, Airport, Mililani Mauka-Launani Valley, Hawaii Kai, parts of Waipahu)Tulsi Gabbard – U.S. Congressional District 2 (Maui County, Kauai County, Hawaii County, parts of Honolulu County)

State House of Representatives
Nicole Lowen – State Representative District 6 (Kailua-Kona, Holualoa, Kalaoa, Honokohau)
Tom Brower – State Representative District 22 (Waikiki, Ala Moana)
Ryan Yamane – State Representative District 37 (Mililani, Waipio Gentry, Waikele)Henry Aquino – State Representative District 38 (Waipahu)
Ty Cullen – State Representative District 39 (Royal Kunia, Village Park, Waipahu, Makakilo, West Loch)
Matt LoPresti – State Representative District 41 (Ewa Villages, Ewa Beach, Ewa Gentry, Ocean Pointe)
Andria Tupola – State Representative District 43 (Ewa Villages, Kalaeloa, Honokai Hale, Nanakai Gardens, Ko Olina, Kahe Point, Nanakuli, Lualualei, Maili)
Sean Quinlan – State Representative District 47 (Waialua, Haleiwa, Pupukea, Kahuku, Laie, Hauula, Waiahole, Waikane, Sunset Beach, Punaluu, Kaaawa)
Jarrett Keohokalole – State Representative District 48 (Kaneohe, Heeia, Ahuimanu, Kahaluu, Haiku Valley, Mokuoloe)
Cynthia Thielen – State Representative District 50 (Kailua, Kaneohe Bay)
Chris Lee – State Representative District 51 (Kailua, Waimanalo)

State Senate
Les Ihara – State Senate District 10 (Kaimuki, Kapahulu, Palolo, St. Louis, Maunalani, Moiliili, Ala Wai)Karl Rhoads – State Senate District 13 (Dowsett Highlands, Puunui, Nuuanu, Pacific Heights, Pauoa, Punchbowl, Palama, Liliha, Iwilei, Chinatown, and Downtown)
Laura Thielen – State Senate District 25 (Kailua, Lanikai, Enchanted Lake, Keolu Hills, Maunawili, Waimanalo, Hawaii Kai, Portlock)